new jersey dui dwi defense lawyer dui attorney

Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

Get Adobe Flash player

New Jersey DUI DWI Defense Attorneys- New Jersey DWI Laws

N.J.S.A. 39:4-50 and 39:4-50.4a
39:4-50 Driving while intoxicated
- $250 to $400 fine, and
- IDRC 12 to 48 hours, and
- in court’s discretion, imprisonment not exceeding 30 days, and
- driver’s license suspension for a period of 3 months, and
- VCCB $50, DDEF $100, SNSF $75, and $100 surcharge, and
August 9, 2004
Offense
1st Offense— BAC 0.08% or higher, but less than .10%
1st Offense— BAC 0.10% or higher
- may order participation in supervised visitation program as either a condition of probation or a form of community service, and
- may order installation of an interlock device for not less than 6 months nor more than 1 year, and
- satisfy the screening, evaluation, and referral requirements of the IDRC. If these requirements are not met, then mandatory 2-day term of imprisonment and driver’s license suspension until requirements are satisfied.
- $300 to $500 fine, and
- IDRC 12 to 48 hours, and
- in court’s discretion imprisonment not exceeding 30 days, and
- driver’s license suspension for not less than 7 months nor more than 1 year, and
- VCCB $50, DDEF $100, SNSF $75, and $100 surcharge, and
- may order participation in supervised visitation program as either a condition of probation or a form of community service, and
- may order installation of an interlock device for not less than 6 months nor more than 1 year, and - satisfy the screening, evaluation, and referral requirements of the IDRC. If these requirements are not
1
2nd Offense
3rd or Subsequent Offense
met, then mandatory 2-day term of imprisonment and driver’s license suspension until requirements are satisfied.
- $500 to $1000 fine, and
- imprisonment of not less than 48 consecutive hours, which shall not be suspended or served on probation, nor more than 90 days, and
- driver’s license suspension for 2 years, and
- community service for 30 days, and
- VCCB $50, DDEF $100, SNSF $75, and $100 surcharge, and
- may order participation in a supervised visitation program as either a condition of probation or a form of community service, and
- shall order installation of ignition interlock device for not less than 1 year nor more than 3 years, or shall revoke all registration certificates and registration plates for 2 years, and
- satisfy the screening, evaluation, and referral requirements of the IDRC. If these requirements are not met, then mandatory 2-day term of imprisonment and driver’s license suspension until requirements are satisfied.
- $1000 fine, and
- imprisonment not less than 180 days in county jail or workhouse, except that the court may order defendant to serve up to 90 days of that sentence participating in a drug or alcohol inpatient rehabilitation program approved by the IDRC, and
- driver’s license suspension for 10 years, and
- VCCB $50, DDEF $100, SNSF $75, and $100 surcharge, and
- may order participation in supervised visitation program as either a condition of probation or a form of community service, and
2
- shall order installation of ignition interlock device for not less than 1 year nor more than 3 years, or shall revoke all registration certificates and registration plates for 10 years, and
- satisfy the screening, evaluation, and referral requirements of the IDRC. If these requirements are not met, then mandatory 2-day term of imprisonment and driver’s license suspension until requirements are satisfied.
Please Note: If the second offense occurs more than 10 years after the first offense, the court shall treat the second conviction as a first offense for sentencing purposes. If the third offense occurs more than 10 years after the second offense, the court shall treat the third conviction as a second offense for sentencing purposes.
3
Offense 1st Offense
39:4-50 Driving while intoxicated while on school property (penalty provision at N.J.S.A. 39:4-50(g))
- $500 to $800 fine, and - imprisonment not exceeding 60 days, and - driver’s license suspension for not less than 1year nor more than 2 years, and - VCCB $50, DDEF $100, SNSF $75, and $100 surcharge, and - may order installation of an interlock device for not less than 6 months nor more than 1 year, and
- satisfy the screening, evaluation, and referral requirements of the IDRC. If these requirements are not met, then mandatory 2-day term of imprisonment and driver’s license suspension until requirements are satisfied.
- $1000 to $2000 fine, and
- imprisonment of not less than 96 consecutive hours, which shall not be suspended or served on probation, nor more than 180 days, except that the court may lower such term for each day, not exceeding 90 days, served performing community service, and
- driver’s license suspension for 4 years, and - community service for 60 days, and - VCCB $50, DDEF $100, SNSF $75, and $100 surcharge, and - may order installation of ignition interlock device for not less than 1 year nor more than 3 years, and
- satisfy the screening, evaluation, and referral requirements of the IDRC. If these requirements are not met, then mandatory 2-day term of imprisonment and driver’s license suspension until requirements are satisfied.
2nd Offense
4
3rd or Subsequent Offense
- $2000 fine, and
- imprisonment not less than 180 days, except that the court may order defendant to serve up to 90 days of that sentence participating in a drug or alcohol inpatient rehabilitation program approved by the IDRC, and
- driver’s license suspension for 20 years to start upon completion of any prison sentence, and - VCCB $50, DDEF $100, SNSF $75, and $100 surcharge, and - may order installation of ignition interlock device for not less than 1 year nor more than 3 years, and
- satisfy the screening, evaluation, and referral requirements of the IDRC. If these requirements are not met, then mandatory 2-day term of imprisonment and driver’s license suspension until requirements are satisfied.
Please Note: If the second offense occurs more than 10 years after the first offense, the court shall treat the second conviction as a first offense for sentencing purposes. If the third offense occurs more then 10 years after the second offense, the court shall treat the third conviction as a second offense for sentencing purposes.
5
Offense 1st Offense
2nd Offense
3rd or Subsequent Offense
39:4-50.4a Refusal to submit to chemical test (penalty provision at N.J.S.A. 39:4-50.4a(a))
- $300 to $500 fine, and
- driver’s license suspension not less than seven months or more than one year (may be concurrent or consecutive to any revocation imposed under N.J.S.A. 39:4-50), and
- DDEF $100, and - shall refer offender to IDRC.
- $500 to $1000 fine, and
- driver’s license suspension for 2 years (consecutive to any revocation imposed under N.J.S.A. 39:4-50), and
- DDEF $100, and - shall refer offender to IDRC.
- $1000 fine, and
- driver’s license suspension for 10 years (consecutive to any revocation imposed under N.J.S.A. 39:4- 50), and
- DDEF $100, and - shall refer offender to IDRC.
6
Offense 1st Offense
2nd Offense
3rd or Subsequent Offense
39:4-50.4a Refusal to submit to chemical test on school property (penalty provision at N.J.S.A. 39:4-50.4a(b))
- $600 to $1000 fine, and - driver’s license suspension not less than 1 year or more than two years, and - DDEF $100, and - shall refer offender to IDRC.
- $1000 to $2000 fine, and - driver’s license suspension for 4 years, and - DDEF $100, and - shall refer offender to IDRC.
- $2000 fine, and - driver’s license suspension for 20 years, and - DDEF $100, and - shall refer offender to IDRC.
7
N.J.S.A. 39:3-40
Note: For all offenses under this statute that involve an accident resulting in personal injury to another, the court is required to impose a period of imprisonment for not less than 45 days, or more than 180 days. N.J.S.A. 39:3-40(e). If the accident results in the death of another person, then the defendant shall be guilty of a crime of the third degree and the defendant’s driving license shall be suspended for an additional period of one year. If the accident results in serious bodily injury to another person, then the defendant shall be guilty of a crime of the fourth degree and the defendant’s driver’s license shall be suspended for an additional period of one year.
.
Offense 1st Offense
39:3-40 Driving while license suspended – general provision
- $500 fine, and - driver’s license suspension not to exceed 6 months.
- $750 fine, and
- driver’s license suspension not to exceed 6 months, and
- imprisonment not more than 5 days, and
- if second offense occurs within 5 years of a conviction for N.J.S.A. 39:3-40, then revocation of all registration certificates for the period driver’s license is suspended (see N.J.S.A. 39:3-40.1), and
- if offense involves a motor vehicle moving violation, then imprisonment for 10 days longer than the term of imprisonment for previous offense.
2nd Offense
8
3rd or Subsequent Offense
- $1000 fine, and
- driver’s license suspension not to exceed 6 months, and
- imprisonment for 10 days, and
- if third offense occurs within 5 years of a conviction for N.J.S.A. 39:3-40, then revocation of all registration certificates for the period driver’s license is suspended (see N.J.S.A. 39:3-40.1) and,
- if offense involves a motor vehicle moving violation, then imprisonment for 10 days longer than the term of imprisonment for previous offense.
9
Offense 1st Offense
39:3-40 (f) (1) Driving while license suspended due to conviction for N.J.S.A. 39:6B-2 (driving without insurance)
- $1000 fine, and - driver’s license suspension not less than 12 months nor more than 30 months, and
- may impose incarceration not to exceed 90 days.
- $1250 fine, and
- driver’s license suspension not less than 12 months nor more than 30 months, and
- may impose imprisonment not more than 90 days, and
- if second offense occurs within 5 years of a conviction for N.J.S.A. 39:3-40, then revocation of all registration certificates for the period driver’s license is suspended (see N.J.S.A. 39:3-40.1), and
- if offense involves a motor vehicle moving violation, then imprisonment for 10 days longer than the term of imprisonment for previous offense.
2nd Offense
10
3rd or Subsequent Offense
- $1500 fine, and
- driver’s license suspension not less than 12 months nor more than 30 months, and
- imprisonment for not less than 10 days nor more than 90 days, and
- if third offense occurs within 5 years of a conviction for N.J.S.A. 39:3-40, then revocation of all registration certificates for the period driver’s license is suspended (see N.J.S.A. 39:3-40.1), and
- if offense involves a motor vehicle moving violation, then imprisonment for 10 days longer than the term of imprisonment for previous offense.
Note: The fines and penalties set forth in N.J.S.A. 39:3-40(f)(1)-(3) are imposed “notwithstanding” the general penalty provisions listed above. This chart is based on the assumption that the fines and penalties set forth in N.J.S.A. 39:3-40(f)(1)- (3) are in addition to those found in N.J.S.A. 39:3-40(a)-(e). This reading of the statute is suggested by State v. Wrotny, 221 N.J. Super. 226, 228-30 (App. Div. 1987), though Wrotny does not explicitly hold as much. For a contrary reading of N.J.S.A. 39:3-40(f)(1)-(30), see State v. Walsh, 236 N.J. Super. 151, 155 (Law Div. 1989), and State v. Rought, 221 N.J. Super. 42, 47 (Law Div. 1987), which both held that the fines and penalties of N.J.S.A. 39:3-40(f)(1)-(3) are a substitute for those provided by N.J.S.A. 39:3-40(a)-(e). Before imposing sentence for a conviction under N.J.S.A. 39:3-40(f)(1)-(3), please consult these cases and any other relevant cases decided after the date of this chart.
11
Offense
1st Offense
39:3-40 (f) (2) Driving while license suspended due to conviction for: - N.J.S.A. 39:4-50 (driving while intoxicated), or - N.J.S.A. 39:4-50.4a (refusal to submit to chemical test), or - N.J.S.A. 39:5-30a to 30e (habitual offender)
- $1000 fine, and - driver’s license suspension not less than 12 months nor more than 30 months, and
- incarceration of not less than 10 days nor more than 90 days, and
- revocation of all registration certificates for the period driver’s license is suspended (see N.J.S.A. 39:3- 40.1).
- $1250 fine, and
- driver’s license suspension not less than 12 months nor more than 30 months, and
- incarceration of not less than 10 days nor more than 90 days, and
- revocation of all registration certificates for the period driver’s license is suspended (see N.J.S.A. 39:3- 40.1), and
- if offense involves a motor vehicle moving violation, then imprisonment for 10 days longer than the term of imprisonment for previous offense.
2nd Offense
12
3rd or Subsequent Offense
- $1500 fine, and
- driver’s license suspension not less than 12 months nor more than 30 months, and
- incarceration for not less than 10 days nor more than 90 days, and
- revocation of all registration certificates for the period driver’s license is suspended (see N.J.S.A. 39:3- 40.1), and
- if offense involves a motor vehicle moving violation, then imprisonment for 10 days longer than the term of imprisonment for previous offense.
Note: The fines and penalties set forth in N.J.S.A. 39:3-40(f)(1)-(3) are imposed “notwithstanding” the general penalty provisions listed above. This chart is based on the assumption that the fines and penalties set forth in N.J.S.A. 39:3- 40(f)(1)-(3) are in addition to those found in N.J.S.A. 39:3-40(a)-(e). This reading of the statute is suggested by State v. Wrotny, 221 N.J. Super. 226, 228-30 (App. Div. 1987), though Wrotny does not explicitly hold as much. For a contrary reading of N.J.S.A. 39:3-40(f)(1)-(30), see State v. Walsh, 236 N.J. Super. 151, 155 (Law Div. 1989), and State v. Rought, 221 N.J. Super. 42, 47 (Law Div. 1987), which both held that the fines and penalties of N.J.S.A. 39:3-40(f)(1)-(3) are a substitute for those provided by N.J.S.A. 39:3-40(a)-(e). Before imposing sentence for a conviction under N.J.S.A. 39:3-40(f)(1)-(3), please consult these cases and any other relevant cases decided after the date of this chart.
13
Offense
1st Offense
39:3-40 (f) (3) Driving while license suspended due to conviction for: - N.J.S.A. 39:4-50 (driving while intoxicated), or - N.J.S.A. 39:4-50.4a (refusal to submit to chemical test) while driving on school property
- $1000 fine, and - driver’s license suspension not less than 12 months nor more than 30 months, and
- incarceration of not less than 60 days nor more than 90 days.
- $1250 fine, and
- driver’s license suspension not less than 12 months nor more than 30 months, and
- incarceration of not less than 120 days nor more than 150 days, and
- if second offense occurs within 5 years of a conviction for N.J.S.A. 39:3-40 then revocation of all registration certificates for the period driver’s license is suspended (see N.J.S.A. 39:3-40.1), and
- if offense involves a motor vehicle moving violation, then imprisonment for 10 days longer than the term of imprisonment for previous offense.
2nd Offense
14
3rd or Subsequent Offense
- $1500 fine, and
- driver’s license suspension not less than 12 months nor more than 30 months, and
- incarceration for 180 days, and
- if third offense occurs within 5 years of a conviction for N.J.S.A. 39:3-40 then revocation of all registration certificates for the period driver’s license is suspended (see N.J.S.A. 39:3-40.1), and
- if offense involves a motor vehicle moving violation, then imprisonment for 10 days longer than the term of imprisonment for previous offense.
Note: The fines and penalties set forth in N.J.S.A. 39:3-40(f)(1)-(3) are imposed “notwithstanding” the general penalty provisions listed above. This chart is based on the assumption that the fines and penalties set forth in N.J.S.A. 39:3- 40(f)(1)-(3) are in addition to those found in N.J.S.A. 39:3-40(a)-(e). This reading of the statute is suggested by State v. Wrotny, 221 N.J. Super. 226, 228-30 (App. Div. 1987), though Wrotny does not explicitly hold as much. For a contrary reading of N.J.S.A. 39:3-40(f)(1)-(30), see State v. Walsh, 236 N.J. Super. 151, 155 (Law Div. 1989), and State v. Rought, 221 N.J. Super. 42, 47 (Law Div. 1987), which both held that the fines and penalties of N.J.S.A. 39:3-40(f)(1)-(3) are a substitute for those provided by N.J.S.A. 39:3-40(a)-(e). Before imposing sentence for a conviction under N.J.S.A. 39:3-40(f)(1)-(3), please consult these cases and any other relevant cases decided after the date of this chart.
15
Offense 1st Offense
2nd Offense
3rd or Subsequent Offense
39:3-40 (g) Driving while license suspended for failure to pay surcharges under N.J.S.A. 17:29A-35
- $500 fine, and - driver’s license suspension not to exceed 6 months, and
- $3000 fine to be collected by DMV. Fine to be waived upon payment of total surcharge imposed.
- $750 fine, and
- driver’s license suspension not to exceed 6 months, and
- imprisonment not more than 5 days, and
- $3000 fine to be collected by DMV. Fine to be waived upon payment of total surcharge imposed, and
- if 2nd offense occurs within 5 years of a conviction for N.J.S.A. 39:3-40, then revocation of all registration certificates for the period driver’s license is suspended (see N.J.S.A. 39:3-40.1), and
- if offense involves a motor vehicle moving violation, then imprisonment for 10 days longer than the term of imprisonment for previous offense.
- $1000 fine, and
- driver’s license suspension not to exceed 6 months, and
- imprisonment for 10 days, and
- $3000 fine to be collected by DMV. Fine to be waived upon payment of total surcharge imposed, and
- if 3rd offense occurs within 5 years of a conviction for N.J.S.A. 39:3-40, then revocation of all registration certificates for the period driver’s license is suspended (see N.J.S.A. 39:3-40.1), and
- if offense involves a motor vehicle moving violation, then imprisonment for 10 days longer than the term of imprisonment for previous offense.
16
Offense
39:3-40 (i)
Driving while license is suspended for failure to respond to failure to appear notice or to pay parking judgment
- Maximum $100 fine upon proof that the violator has satisfied the parking tickets.
1st Offense
17